All-American Bowl alumni named to Butkus Award Watch List

Micah Parsons

Monday afternoon the preseason candidates for the Butkus Award were announced. The award is presented annually to honor athletic achievement and service to the community while honoring the nation’s best college linebackers.

A trio of past All-American Bowl athletes were named on the preseason candidates list.

  • Micah Parsons (Penn State)
  • Jacob Phillips (LSU)
  • Shaquille Quarterman (Miami)

Past All-American Bowl alumni to win the award are; Jaylon Smith, C.J. Mosley and Derrick Johnson.

Watch the twentieth edition of the annual East vs. West matchup on Saturday, January 4, 2020 in the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. The Bowl will be nationally televised, live on NBC at 12:00 Noon CST, and will feature the nation’s top 100 high school football players.