Cooper DeJean Named 2021 All-American Bowl adidas Player of the Year

Defensive Back Cooper DeJean (Ida Grove, Iowa/ Odebolt Arthur Battle Creek Ida Grove H.S.), the University of Iowa commit.
All-American Bowl

The All-American Bowl Selection Committee announced the winner for the prestigious All-American Bowl adidas Player of the Year Award. Cooper DeJean (Ida Grove, IA/ Odebolt Arthur Battle Creek Ida Grove H.S.) was named the winner of the award which is given annually to the nationโ€™s most outstanding high school senior football player and is the most distinguished individual award given in high school football.

According to 247Sports, DeJean is a four-star prospect and the No. 3 overall in the state of Iowa. During his senior season he accounted for over 4,500 yards of total offense and 62 total touchdowns. DeJean also recorded 53.5 tackles and 3 interceptions on the defensive side of the ball. He led his school to their second consecutive state championship title. DeJean will play football at the University of Iowa next fall.

Past winners of the award include Adrian Peterson, Trevor Lawrence, and Bryce Young.ย 

About the All-American Bowl

As an NBC Sports-owned property, the All-American Bowl is part of a marquee lineup of elite events that includes the Olympics, the NHL, the Premier League, and the number one primetime show since 2011: Sunday Night Football. The All-American Bowl is annually the most-watched, most-talked about, and most-prestigious high school all-star event with more than 4,500,000 unique television viewers and over 25,000 in attendance. The history and tradition of the All-American Bowl is unparalleled: 450 draft picks; 66 Super Bowl champions; 160 Pro Bowl selections; 17 Heisman finalists including, but not limited to: Odell Beckham Jr., Christian McCaffrey, Tim Tebow, Derrick Henry, Joe Thomas, and Trevor Lawrence. For more information, visit, or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@AABonNBC).