17 Former All-Americans Named to Bednarik Award Watch List

17 former All-American Bowl athletes were named to the watch list.
All-American Bowl

Monday morning the Maxwell Football Club released the watchlist for the 27th annual Chuck Bednarik award, presented annually to the outstanding defensive player in college football.

17 former All-American Bowl athletes were named to the watch list.

  • Will Anderson (Alabama)
  • Josh Jobe (Alabama)
  • Chase Lucas (Arizona State)
  • Bryan Bresee (Clemson)
  • Tiawan Mullen (Indiana)
  • Derek Stingley Jr. (LSU)
  • Eli Ricks (LSU)
  • Bubba Bolden (Miami)
  • Aidan Hutchinson (Michigan)
  • Payton Wilson (NC State)
  • Kyle Hamilton (Notre Dame)
  • Haskell Garrett (Ohio State)
  • Zach Harrison (Ohio State)
  • George Karlaftis (Purdue)
  • DeMarvin Leal (Texas A&M)
  • Drake Jackson (USC)
  • Trent McDuffie (Washington)

Watch the annual East vs. West matchup on Saturday, January 8, 2022 in the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. The All-American Bowl will be nationally televised, live on NBC at 1:00 PM ET, and will feature the nationโ€™s top 100 high school football players.

About the All-American Bowl

As an NBC Sports-owned property, the All-American Bowl is part of a marquee lineup of elite events that includes the Olympics, the NHL, the Premier League, and the number one primetime show since 2011: Sunday Night Football. The All-American Bowl is annually the most-watched, most-talked about, and most-prestigious high school all-star event with more than 4,100,000 unique television viewers and over 20,000 in attendance. The history and tradition of the All-American Bowl is unparalleled: 496 draft picks; 74 Super Bowl champions; 174 Pro Bowl selections; 13 Heisman finalists including, but not limited to: Odell Beckham Jr., Christian McCaffrey, Tim Tebow, Derrick Henry, DeVonta Smith, and Trevor Lawrence. For more information, visit NBCSports.com/AllAmericanBowl, or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@AABonNBC)