Nine Former All-Americans Named to Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Nine former All-American Bowl athletes were named to the Jim Thorpe Award watch list.
All-American Bowl

The official Watch List for the 2021 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award was released on Monday. The award is annually given to the best defensive back in college football.

Nine former All-American Bowl athletes were named to the watch list.

  • Chris Steele (USC)
  • Eli Ricks (LSU)
  • Tiawan Mullen (Indiana)
  • Derek Stingley Jr. (LSU)
  • Trent McDuffie (Washington)
  • Chase Lucas (Arizona State)
  • Josh Jobe (Alabama)
  • Kyle Hamilton (Notre Dame)
  • Bubba Bolden (Miami)

Watch the annual East vs. West matchup on Saturday, January 8, 2022 in the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. The All-American Bowl will be nationally televised, live on NBC at 1:00 PM ET, and will feature the nation’s top 100 high school football players.

About the All-American Bowl

As an NBC Sports-owned property, the All-American Bowl is part of a marquee lineup of elite events that includes the Olympics, the NHL, the Premier League, and the number one primetime show since 2011: Sunday Night Football. The All-American Bowl is annually the most-watched, most-talked about, and most-prestigious high school all-star event with more than 4,100,000 unique television viewers and over 20,000 in attendance. The history and tradition of the All-American Bowl is unparalleled: 496 draft picks; 74 Super Bowl champions; 174 Pro Bowl selections; 13 Heisman finalists including, but not limited to: Odell Beckham Jr., Christian McCaffrey, Tim Tebow, Derrick Henry, DeVonta Smith, and Trevor Lawrence. For more information, visit, or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@AABonNBC)